Scandinavians are afraid of Trump

It’s not just Scandinavians who are afraid of Donald Trump. People in all the European countries, except Russia, are afraid of Trump. Russians are positive to Donald Trump becoming president of the United States, which is probably one of the reasons for Scandinavians’ fear.

trump-bus-1

Bus in Copenhagen urging Americans in Denmark to vote – and not for Trump

A friend of mine asked me how Scandinavians felt about the two major candidates for the US election. I told her that it seemed to me that most Scandinavians didn’t understand how Donald Trump had become so popular in the US. We don’t want to explicitly say that we believe it’s because you’re a bit behind on the gender equality thing, but yeah, I suppose that’s what we think deep down. Sorry…

Only one Trump supporter in the Norwegian parliament

Unfortunately, I didn’t have any numbers to back my statement up with and my opinions on what my fellow Scandinavians think, are really just my opinions. The only number I did have was the Norwegian newspaper Aftenposten who asked the 175 members of the Norwegian parliament and found only one who supported Trump. And he is a member of our far-right Progress party.

Now I have the numbers!

But now I have the numbers! Aftenposten, one of the largest (and a former conservative) papers in Norway published a European questionaire about the US election. To put it like that; Donald Trump is not going to be president in Europe anytime soon!

This is the lead Hillary Clinton has over Donald Trump in various countries. Portugal is on top at being Clinton-friendly/Trump-haters. Hillary Clinton wins in all countries, but one: Russia (in Norwegian: Russland). In Norway (in blue) Hillary Clinton has a 59% margin on Donald Trump. In Sweden Clinton wins with a 75% margin. That’s a bit more than the 3% margin she has in her own country.

trump1

Trump is only well liked in one country: Russia

We are afraid of Donald Trump

One of the reasons why we don’t want Trump as a president of the United States is probably the same reason Russians do want him. We see him as a friend of Russia and that he has turned his back on Europe. We also see him at completely incompetent, of course, but what we really feel towards Donald Trump is fear.

trump4

If Trump is elected president, which of these words would describe how you feel? Afraid (50%), disappointed (48%), sad (40%), angry (26%), pity (20%), entertained (14%), don’t care (8%), thrilled (4%), optimistic (4%), happy (3%), relieved (2%), none of these (2%), don’t know (7%)

Fifty percent of all Norwegians are afraid of Donald Trump as president. That’s a huge number! But it’s not a surprise since he’s uttered statements about pulling back from NATO and is seen as best pals with Putin – a president we’re also afraid of. And with good reason since we share a border with Russia and have seen what has happened in other countries that share borders with Russia.

There are other reasons to fear Trump when you live in Scandinavia. His stance on environmental issues, for instance. His opinions on climate changes do not find many friends in my part of the world. We need to do something NOW and that is not going to happen with a president who denies the problem.

What about Hillary?

Are Norwegians as concerned about Hillary Clinton as president of the United States? No, we’re not. If anything, we’re relieved if our friends across the Atlantic choose their first female president.

trump2

If Clinton is president, which of these words would best describe your feelings? Relief (57%), optimistic (29%), don’t care (21%), happy (21%), thrilled (11%), disappointed (8%), afraid (7 %), sad (7%), pity (7%), amused (5%), none of these (5%), angry (3%), don’t know (9%)

It seems the general consensus in Norway is #NotTrump.

Trump would be a terrible president

The rest of Europe seems to share that sentiment. In this poll, people from Denmark (Danmark), Great Britain (Storbritannia), Finland, Sweden (Sverige), Germany (Tyskland), France (Frankrike) and Norway (Norge) are asked, “What kind of president would Trump be?”

They could choose between Excellent (dark green), Good (light green), Average (light blue), Bad (light red), Terrible (dark red) and Don’t know (grey). I think it’s fair to state that Europeans think Trump would be a terrible president.

trump3

What kind of president would Trump be? The answer from Europe is “Terrible”

The question is, what do Americans think? I suppose we’ll have the answer on election day. I just hope that my American friends consider the rest of the world too when they are in the voting booth. We have a small stake in this too!

Happy voting!

All the numbers are from this newspaper article

30 responses to “Scandinavians are afraid of Trump

  • Joona Vainio

    I have nothing else to add, but someone has “forgot” to mention publicly Trump’s campaing officials’ intense emailing and communication with Russian secret services. Or heh, rather ALL services in Russia are secret.

    Hillary’s blunder using her personal insecure mail in business and politics is a flys shit compared to that.

    And I ain’t afraid of nobody. I hate and despise.

    • thyra10

      This is definitely part of the fear. We see how Putin has a big, fat hand in the US election and that’s definitely something to be afraid of. Especially since Trump is such a politial lightweight. He’ll be chewed up and spit out by Putin and the rest of the world will suffer the consequences.

  • amiramo11

    That’s a difficult choice, pick a lunatic or an idiot

    • thyra10

      I’m pleased with our political system where we have a larger number of parties and politicians to choose from, but I wouldn’t find it all that hard to choose between Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton 🙂

      • amiramo11

        Well I would, to pick the one who wants to stop Muslim immigrants who want to move to the US or the Rotschilds war dog who will bomb the Muslims, my country also has more political parties (at least half are a waste of space) and it gives you more choice, but this two party system has their own voting army, independent candidates stand no chance, it’s just a matter of who will sway their way a bit more independent voters

      • thyra10

        I have no problems with immigrants, Muslim or otherwise. I do have a problem with bombs but I suppose neither candidate has any anti-bomb guarantees. I think one of the candidates will use her brains (though I might disagree with what her brains decided as I’m probably more of a pacifist than she is) before sending off any bombs while the other one might send them left or right if he was insulted by someone. And that’s a scary thought.

  • suki59

    Thanks for your insight, Thyra. I’ve shared this and am getting comments confirming similar sentiments from other countries as well.

  • Juicy

    I live in one of the most conservative states, and it’s tough. I didn’t put my bumper sticker on my car because it would have been vandalized. I hate to generalize, but Trumps supporters seem to just want someone to say they are going to “fix it”. He has offered no plans for any of his “fixes”. The fact he hasn’t released his tax returns is unbelievable. It’s very depressing and people are just being nasty now. Fake news sites are flooding the internet with ridiculous stories. His “fans” (when have you ever heard a politicians supporters called fans?) just want to hear his proclamations. Like going to see your favorite band so you can cheer for all their hits.
    I’m really disappointed that Hillary didn’t have an opponent that she could actually debate and Trump dragged her into his pigpen.
    Europeans should be scared of Trump. He is a narcissist that lashes out over any criticism.
    I’m going out to check my animals and decompress from the stress!!

    Susan

    • thyra10

      I’m so sorry for you! Imagine not being able to have a bumper sticker for one of the candidates on your car. That’s not really freedom of speech, is it?
      I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you – and for all of us!

  • sharonbethani

    Wow! I didn’t know this was a political site. I follow because I enjoy the writing, comments, and the anticipation of your next chapter/stories. But if this is a decision to go political….please get your facts correct. Trump is a movement! Those who do support Hillary are die hard fans and refuse to look past what she is truly about. Corruption! Please check out what the New York Police Dept is putting out, Steve Pieczenik has been warning us for years, William Binney has also been warning us, Julian Assange/WikiLeaks (all there info has been leaked to them from NSA, FBI, CIA, and 16 other agencies because of their fear of a Hillary presidency), Kim dotCom. Dig a little deeper and be afraid if she gets in.
    I get people fear what they don’t know, but look past the MSM and find the truth. Trump was never a threat till he started to tear away the veil and forced the truth into the open. And they didn’t like it! For years Republicans have been controlled with fear, abuse, public humiliation, lies, and more lies (and yes, sometimes it was true), but the Democrats….well, the Pandora’s box has been opened and no matter how hard they try, none of their filth can be stuffed back in the box.
    Search for the truth, it’s right before everyone’s eyes. It was really never hidden if people actually listened to what they had been telling us.
    Now as for Europe…from what I’ve been reading and seeing, Europe wants Trump. Pergita, Marine LePen, Nigel Farage, Gert Wilders, General ElAsisi Egypt (and please excuse if I misspelled his name), and millions of Europeans understand the United States is headed to hell in a hand basket if we vote in another democrat. Europe is with us and our right to have a President who will love us, guide us, and keep our shores safe. Most Americans do not want open borders, free medical/welfare/food/housing to those who didn’t earn it, better education, trade that is balanced, and jobs that stay in our country. It is our right and our sovereignty that is at stake, but if we collapse so does everyone else.
    As far as the Russians go….debunked. Hillary has always been in contact. Again, check your facts. She and Podesta made the deals for OUR Uranium, not Trump. It always amazes me how people project their true selves onto other people (accuse someone of what you are doing yourself. This is a proven point).
    With utmost respect, I appreciate your writing contributions, but please don’t use your popularity as a writer to sway America’s votes. We can think for ourselves and hopefully those who wish to go to the dark side are far and few between.

    • thyra10

      I would suggest you get your facts straight. The only European people who want Trump, are the Russians. The polls are very clear on that.
      The European politicians you mention are extreme right wingers, many of them financially supported by Russia. These are the facts.
      As to whether this is a political blog – it’s a Scandinavian blog that reports things from my part of the world. I’ve reported political news before and probably will again.

      • Joona Vainio

        It’s kinda same as with Piter trolls. A tiny fringe group making maximum voice to disinform, misinform, and propagating.

        Some kooks might actually think they are a faction worth shit – even majority. It is easier to deceive oneself than others.

        As Vladimir Iljitsh said: Useful idiots.

        This is my opinion. I have many others. If someone does not like them, oughta quit reading them.

      • sharonbethani

        Hmmmm it amazes me that it’s always the Russians when it’s been proven (from his own mouth) that Julian Assange was given these emails from the NSA, FBI, CIA, and other Intelligence agencies within our government. His proof of life interview with RT, as well other interviews with Steve Pieczenik, Doug Hagmann, Colonel Schaeffer, and even the New York Police Dept tell us (yes, it’s been leaked and verified) that none of this is from the Russians. The United States Government leaked them to prevent Hillary from getting the presidency. Again facts, always facts.
        As for the European leaders who are for Trump, geeze, can we come up with a new slogan?! No, Russia is not supporting nor sponsoring them. That is an old and worn out phrase because at least in America, we know this to be untrue.
        As for press within Scandinavia, I can only say for Sweden, it is a government run subsidy. So essentially whatever the government wants them to say, they say. Money talks for most liberals.
        Now onto all the beloved “Right Wingers”. I haven’t quite figured out why sovereignty, freedom of speach, actually borders, the right to pick your schools, and freedom of religion would be so repugnant. But then again, I am a “Right Winger” and take these things seriously where those on the left wish for us all to be under a spell in which we hand over all our money, our freedom, our choice of government, and our choice to worship to the all powerful corporate government. Well h*** no! Most red blooded Americans will fight to the end in regards to this (as it’s happening all over). Egypt, ousted the MB (Morsi) and brought in ElAsisi, and other countries which are choosing to close their borders and lock their countries up tight.
        You are always welcome to have your opinion political or otherwise, but you didn’t state any correct facts. Please do not think I am a fool just as I do not think you are one either. But this is our election and if you wish to state an opinion (one that is based and shaped from a culture thousands of miles away) please get the facts correct. I do not believe you have taken the time to research mine. Go on Duck Duck Go please (they are a reliable search engine) and you will see I am correct. While my spelling may be off I assure you, my facts are correct.
        While I may not always agree with you, I agree you should always be able to voice your opinion. This is a right in America, but as I said before “Please don’t use your popularity to sway others”. Americans need to do their own research and come to their own conclusions.
        This is a turning point in American history…we either have a country or we don’t. Europe has made its bed, now America has to decide what future we will have.
        In closing, I hope you have a wonderful day (or is it morning?) in your fair country and I look forward to your next story/ installments. Sharon

      • Joona Vainio

        Hmm. One might take a look of the freedom of press ratings. I dunno where Sweden is, but not far behind for sure. New Zealand and us kinda trade the 1st place each year.

      • sharonbethani

        Hmmmm it amazes me that it’s always the Russians when it’s been proven (from his own mouth) that Julian Assange was given these emails from the NSA, FBI, CIA, and other Intelligence agencies within our government. His proof of life interview with RT, as well other interviews with Steve Pieczenik, Doug Hagmann, Colonel Schaeffer, and even the New York Police Dept tell us (yes, it’s been leaked and verified) that none of this is from the Russians. The United States Government leaked them to prevent Hillary from getting the presidency. Again facts, always facts.
        As for the European leaders who are for Trump, geeze, can we come up with a new slogan?! No, Russia is not supporting nor sponsoring them. That is an old and worn out phrase because at least in America, we know this to be untrue.
        As for press within Scandinavia, I can only say for Sweden, it is a government run subsidy. So essentially whatever the government wants them to say, they say. Money talks for most liberals.
        Now onto all the beloved “Right Wingers”. I haven’t quite figured out why sovereignty, freedom of speach, actually borders, the right to pick your schools, and freedom of religion would be so repugnant. But then again, I am a “Right Winger” and take these things seriously where those on the left wish for us all to be under a spell in which we hand over all our money, our freedom, our choice of government, and our choice to worship to the all powerful corporate government. Well h*** no! Most red blooded Americans will fight to the end in regards to this (as it’s happening all over). Egypt, ousted the MB (Morsi) and brought in ElAsisi, and other countries which are choosing to close their borders and lock their countries up tight.
        You are always welcome to have your opinion political or otherwise, but you didn’t state any correct facts. Please do not think I am a fool just as I do not think you are one either. But this is our election and if you wish to state an opinion (one that is based and shaped from a culture thousands of miles away) please get the facts correct. I do not believe you have taken the time to research mine. Go on Duck Duck Go please (they are a reliable search engine) and you will see I am correct. While my spelling may be off I assure you, my facts are correct.
        While I may not always agree with you, I agree you should always be able to voice your opinion. This is a right in America, but as I said before “Please don’t use your popularity to sway others”. Americans need to do their own research and come to their own conclusions.
        This is a turning point in American history…we either have a country or we don’t. Europe has made its bed, now America has to decide what future we will have.
        I hope you have a wonderful day (or is it morning?) in your fair country and I look forward to your next story/ installments. Sharon

      • Joona Vainio

        I merely commented your claim that the press/media is government controlled in Sweden. All Nordics are consistently (with those pesky Kiwis) in top ten. Usa, for example is nowhere near.

        As for the other stuff, I don’t bother just now, sorry.

      • sharonbethani

        Sorry, didn’t mean to resend response to Thyra….my phone has been doing interesting stuff lately.

      • thyra10

        I’m quoting a survey – you’re the one bringing all kinds of conspiracy theories to the table. I never mentioned the Russian government, but it is a fact that the only European country where people are for Trump, is Russia. Like it or not.
        I don’t live in Sweden but it’s pretty insulting to say that the Swedish press isn’t free. And what it has to do with anything, I don’t know since I was quoting a *Norwegian* paper that again quoted an international survey.
        You talk about freedom of religion when these right wingers are against freedom of religion – at least if that religion isn’t Christianity. That’s not freedom of religion, that’s censorship. Europe has already tried banning a religion and putting that religion’s believers in concentration camps. We don’t need to do that again, contrary to what those right wing fear mongers try to scare us into thinking. I’m happy to say that we don’t have any of the extreme right wingers here in Norway – just normal right wingers with opinions on taxes and what not. They don’t call out for religious sensorship, actually one of them defended the right to wear hijab to work only yesterday.
        The facts I’ve stated are quotes from a survey. You seem to not like that survey but that doesn’t make it less true. I wrote this post for a friend who wondered what Europeans think about Trump – and this is what Europeans think about Trump. We’re afraid of him and what his presidency will mean for us. My personal opinion is that Trump as a president will mean that Russia can move forward into Europe because Trump has turned his back on us in several of his statements. Since my country shares a border with Russia, this keeps me up at night. I don’t particularly want my country to be the next Ukraine.
        I’m not sure I have any popularity to sway anyone but it’s nice of you to suggest that I do 🙂
        I hope you have a great day too. We have snow here now so that’s always a good thing.

      • sharonbethani

        Yes, I understand. It’s always someone else’s fault if they don’t agree, always someone else who’s the racist, always someone else who doesn’t understand. And because there is the amazing Constitution which gives everyone the right to agree to disagree….well, it’s time for bed or rather it’s time to snuggle up with my family to watch the last of 4 Trump rallies (which by the way he has been state hopping all day…what energy….what stamina…what policy he’s been discussing today!) which starts at 11:30pm EST. However, there are the warm up speakers first…so have a wonderful day my friend. By the way, it was close to 80 degrees Fahrenheit (I forget the conversion in Celsius) I am jealous of your snow since we are originally from the North and the South does nothing for us…ugh…no mountains, no cool nights. Just hot, muggy, sweltering, with tons of mosquitoes where we live. So onto the rally, nite! Sharon

  • gaijinvamp

    I’m afraid of Trump too. I have to stay optimistic that he won’t win, but the idiocy of the American electorate is well known.

    I also live in a very red state where a “Dump Trump” sticker might have my car vandalized. Thank goodness we have only to wait until Tuesday night for this to all be over.

  • Joona Vainio

    Meant to say maximum noise there. Not voice. Sry.

  • Rick Westenberger

    Hi Thyra,

    I live in Florida, and we are scared, but resolute. Despite the many crazies that live in our country, we eventually (usually) get it right. I’m confident we will elect Hillary. All of my Clinton signs get stolen, bumper stickers removed and countless Trump signs appear in their place. But I have had many conversations, and the predominant view is that Clinton supporters are embarrassed or afraid to show support for their candidate, but they will vote. She is by no means the best, but she is competent and reasonable. Trump is just an A-hole entertainer that has riled up the xenophobes and racists. Unfortunately, we have a few here too. But wait until tomorrow! I’ll be at the voting booth early, and you’ll see a sensible election (probably followed by really angry idiots shouting, but ineffective)
    Rick

    • thyra10

      I’m so sorry that the debate is like that.
      I was recently inviter into the group Pantsuit Nation on Facebook and it’s a great place to be if you’re voting for Hillary Clinton. People share amazing and very personal stories that touch your heart.
      I hope the rift in your country will be quickly ended after the election.
      Good luck!

  • Teresa Rowell

    Hello Thyra10! I decided to read an old favorite or two this morning to take my mind off “IT”, ha ha and came across your blog post of last week. I really appreciate your comments, most especially that tasty gif of Trump’s face on the side of that Copenhagen bus! I live in North Carolina and have been what is called a precinct official here since 2011, and an election worker since 2006. Currently, I am the Democratic Judge for Precinct #39 in Rowan County, NC. My take on Tuesday is that many voters chose to stay home, which they very much like to do in my country regardless of what election it is, and that many voters this year who did show up cast a vote ‘against’ a candidate rather than ‘for’ a candidate aka, they “hate voted”. The economy is crap. We still have 2 unfunded wars. The term “jobless recovery” means just that! Jobs that are here post-2008 do not pay the same, do not offer any benefits; frankly, what is called ‘real wages’ have not risen in the USA since the late 1970’s. So, many people are scared and angry, and for white men, it is their turn on the dole, so to speak. Trump promised to bring back the steel industry and certain voters believed him! That’s the tone here, and has been for a while, not just last Tuesday. Tuesday did not happen on Tuesday, if that makes sense.

    Did I think Hillary Clinton was the best candidate? Nope. She’s 100% establishment and would probably continue the 8 year of very safe, right of center policy under the Obama administration. But the Trump administration will leave a legacy that is not going to be good for our planet, much less the USA
    :-/
    p.s. I’m going to go read some of your excellent one-shots now 🙂 !!

    • thyra10

      I’m really sorry your voter turnout is so low. That’s never a healthy sign and even less now after an election with so much hatred and division.

      I’m probably way left to both your candidates but then I’m living in a country where we would consider Bernie Sanders a center candidate, maybe even center right. So I might agree with you on Hillary Clinton’s politics. It would be more establishment than I would have preferred. And she is a “hawk” in international politics. But there’s no doubt that she was extremely qualified and that she would have been a president one could trust internationally, in the sense that she would not have suddenly jumped the gun because she took offense to something. She would also have stayed on track on environmental issues which is extremely important now.

      I think most of Europe – apart from certain extreme right-wingers – are fearful now. We have no idea what to expect. We just know that it’ll probably be bad.

Leave a Reply

